It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Network VMK 1 - Setup
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 8:33 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 am
Posts: 1105
Location: Ontario Canada
In this video I show how to setup the Network Manager project using Microsoft Visual Studio 2010. I also create a menu system that allows the user to choose whether they want to create a Server or a Client application, whether it will use TCP or UDP, and select which port number to use.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Network VMK 1 - Setup
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:59 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:51 am
Posts: 4
Great tutorial,

I haven't seen you used system("cls"); or something similar.
So, in the tutorial when you pressed a key the text were instantly changed, the "current selection" text weren't added next to the old "current selection" as it is in my case.
So, how did you remove the old text and update with the new text?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Network VMK 1 - Setup
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:42 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 am
Posts: 1105
Location: Ontario Canada
The reason why I don't need to call cls or any other clear screen type function is because I am only refreshing one line of text on the screen each time.

Take a look at the configure function. I print all the menu options once, and then in a loop I use the NetworkConfig.print function to show what is selected.

The \r at the end of the printf statement found in NetworkConfig.print is the key to this whole thing working!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Network VMK 1 - Setup
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:40 am 

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:21 am
Posts: 3
Can i use Visual Studio 2002 for this VMK series?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Network VMK 1 - Setup
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:10 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 am
Posts: 1105
Location: Ontario Canada
geovanno wrote:
Can i use Visual Studio 2002 for this VMK series?


I'm pretty sure I use some new functionality within the std namespace that is not available in the older VS 2002 compiler. You'd be better off to use a more recent compiler which you can get for free from Microsoft here:

http://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/produ ... ss-vs.aspx

If you are enrolled in school you can also get more free software from Microsoft here: https://www.dreamspark.com/


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

cron