It is currently Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:20 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Shader VMK 109 - Build Number Update
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:43 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 am
Posts: 1094
Location: Ontario Canada
The Game project inside the Shader Engine is updated in this VMK to use the new Build Number program which is now available from here: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=896


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shader VMK 109 - Build Number Update
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 1:04 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:58 am
Posts: 447
I'm trying to track down this bug. This is what is happening. I did this as a control test. I first cleaned my solution. I then opened the text file that the BuildConfig generates and changed the value to 0. I then did a full build. This incremented the value to 1. So now my solution has been built and now I am using ctrl+F5 to run without debugging. But for some reason this value is being incremented again and instead of seeing a value of 1, I am now seeing a value of 2 both in the console screen and in the text file.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shader VMK 109 - Build Number Update
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 12:48 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:58 am
Posts: 447
After trying to debug the application; I do not think there is any problems with the code. I think the problem lies within MS VS2015. I wen into Tools -> Options -> Projects and Solutions -> Build and Run. On the right hand side these were the default options:

Maximum number of parallel project builds: set to 4
Only build startup projects and dependencies on Run: is checked
On Run, when projects are out of Date: set to Always buid
On Run, when build or deployment errors occur: set to Prompt to launch
For new solutions use the currently selected project as the startup project: not checked
MSBuild project build output verbosity: set to Minimal
MSBuild project build log file verbosity: set to Minimal

I ended up changing -
On Run, when projects are out of date: Prompt to build

I then did a clean and build. I changed the value in the BuildConfig.txt file to 0 and saved it.

Now I selected Debug -> Run without debugging or Ctrl + F5. It gives me a dialog box that my solution is out of date want to build. So I checked yes. Allowed the application to run, pressed escape to exit the ShaderEngine. Now I press Ctrl + F5 to do a run without debugging and the same dialog box comes up stating my solution or project is out of date.

This is why I am getting an increment of +2 every time I run this ShaderEngine even if I do not build or rebuild it even if I do not change anything.

Any suggestions, tips or answers on how to resolve this would be great before I begin to move onto the Zing VMKs. Thank You ahead of time!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shader VMK 109 - Build Number Update
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 10:21 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:59 am
Posts: 1094
Location: Ontario Canada
Is the text file that tracks your build number inside your visual studio project? If so remove it to see if that fixes your issue.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shader VMK 109 - Build Number Update
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:14 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:58 am
Posts: 447
The file still resides within the project folders in Windows Explorer and it is not in the Solution Explorer.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shader VMK 109 - Build Number Update
PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:41 pm 

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:58 am
Posts: 447
I found out what was causing the problem. In my Game Project under Resource Files within the Solution Explorer, I had the text files for the GUI system included in the project. I removed them, did a clean, deleted the BuildConfig text file. Then built the solution and it generated a new BuildConfig text file. Then with the options set within VS to prompt to build when projects are out of date. I did not get a message window asking if I want to rebuild each time I used Ctrl+F5. So I think I'm ready to move on to the next vmks.


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

cron